Scientific Advisory Board 2019-12-10T11:57:43-07:00

Scientific Advisory Board

The Verasonics Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) is comprised of ultrasound research scientists who have a wide range of expertise in the fields of biomedical ultrasound and materials science/non-destructive evaluation. The SAB was formed to assist Verasonics’ leadership team to gain insight and feedback on potential new product concepts from thought leaders in these fields.

Jessica Foley, Ph.D.
Chief Scientific Officer at the Focused Ultrasound Foundation based in Charlottesville, Virginia. As Chief Scientific Officer, Dr. Foley guides the strategy, development, and implementation of the scientific and research programs and activities within the Foundation. Additionally, she leads alliance-building efforts with external stakeholders including (but not limited to) governmental policymakers, regulatory agencies, and disease-specific foundations whose interests are complementary to those of the Foundation.
James Greenleaf, Ph.D.
Professor of Physiology and Biomedical Engineering at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, MN. Dr. Greenleaf and his research lab study methods of using ultrasonic elastography for clinical applications such as providing simple, noninvasive biopsies at the patient’s bedside. Recently, Dr. Greenleaf and collaborators licensed intellectual property that will make this advance available to several major manufacturers.
Elisa Konofagou, Ph.D.
The Robert and Margaret Hariri Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Professor of Radiology, as well as Director of the Ultrasound and Elasticity Imaging Laboratory at Columbia University in New York City. Her main interests are in the development of novel elasticity imaging techniques and therapeutic ultrasound methods and more notably focused ultrasound in the brain for drug delivery and stimulation, myocardial elastography, electromechanical and pulse wave imaging, harmonic motion imaging with several clinical collaborations in the Columbia Presbyterian Medical Center and elsewhere. Dr. Konofagou is an Elected Fellow of the American Institute of Biological and Medical Engineering, a member of the IEEE in Engineering in Medicine and Biology, IEEE in Ultrasonics, Ferroelectrics and Frequency Control Society, the Acoustical Society of America and the American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine. She has co-authored over 180 published articles in the aforementioned fields.
Mikhail Shapiro, Ph.D.
Shapiro heads the Shapiro Laboratory at the California Institute of Technology, Division of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering. The Shapiro Lab develops bimolecular contrast agents, sensors and actuators to enable non-invasive imaging and control of cellular function for basic biology and cell-based diagnostics and therapeutics. Dr. Shapiro is a Professor of Chemical Engineering and an Investigator of the Heritage Medical Research Institute at Caltech.
Dean Ta, Ph.D.
Professor in the Department of Electronic Engineering at Fudan University, Shanghai, China. Dr. Ta is also Adjunct Professor at the University of Alberta in Canada. His research interests include biomedical ultrasound, medical signal and image processing, and generation and propagation of ultrasonic waves and their applications in medicine and NDT/NDE.
Mickael Tanter, Ph.D.
Mickael Tanter is the Director at Physics for Medicine in Paris, France, a world-leading academic laboratory in biomedical ultrasound. Professor Tanter and his team are pioneers of ultrafast ultrasound and have developed many medical applications – including shear wave elastography, functional ultrasound imaging and ultrasound localization microscopy – from proof-of-concept studies to clinical translation. His laboratory develops new technologies for imaging and therapeutic purposes, addressing three major fields of medicine: cancer, cardiovascular diseases and neuroscience. Professor Tanter is also co-founder of several medical technology companies including Supersonic Imagine, CardiaWave and Iconeus. He was elected member of the European Academy of Science.
Shin-ichiro Umemura, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus, as well as a Research Scientist of Biomedical Engineering at Tohoku University. His research interests are in biomedical ultrasonics, especially therapeutic ultrasound enhanced by cavitation and microbubbles including sonodynamic therapy. They are extended to ultrasonic imaging with emphasis on monitoring the noninvasive therapeutic processes. He was a Professor of Electrical and Biomedical Engineering at Tohoku University, from 2007 to 2018 and from 2008 to 2018, respectively. Dr. Umemura also has both industry and medical academia experience; he was a member of Hitachi’s R&D team, and a Professor in the Department of Human Healthcare at Kyoto University, from 1980 to 2005 and from 2005 to 2006, respectively. He is an IEEE Fellow since 2000, a Fellow of the Acoustical Society of America since 2009, and a Fry Honorary Fellow of the International Society of Therapeutic Ultrasound since 2010.
Paul Wilcox, Ph.D.
Professor of Dynamics and Head of Department of Mechanical Engineering (2015-2018) at University of Bristol in the United Kingdom. Dr. Wilcox’s research includes elastodynamic wave propagation and scattering, ultrasonic arrays, imaging, signal processing, structural health monitoring and non-destructive testing. Dr. Wilcox lead the development of University of Bristol’s BRAIN software for advanced NDE ultrasonic post-processing analysis.

11335 NE 122nd Way, Suite 100
Kirkland WA 98034